18-2a/1 Player Who Misses Tee Shot Tees Ball Lower Before Making Next Stroke

Q.
A player playing from the teeing ground misses the ball completely. He pushes his tee further into the ground and plays.
What is the ruling?

A.
When the player made a stroke, the ball was in play (see Definition of “Ball in Play”). By pushing the tee further into the ground, he moved the ball and incurred a penalty of one stroke under Rule 18-2a and was required to replace it. However, when the player made a stroke at the ball without replacing it, he played under penalty of stroke and distance (see Rule 27-1a). This procedure overrides Rule 18-2a and, therefore, the penalty under Rule 18-2a does not apply. (Revised)

Comments are closed.